Nicole Making a Tree Hut

The last week of term 1 was the best because our class was going to make our own tree huts. We all started collecting recycled materials to build our tree huts with. On the first day I was struggling to make the base stable. I made the base with 2 paper rolls and wooden cut-offs.

 

 The next day I started to make my tree hut using a small cardboard box and then I decided to make the ladder. I made the ladder out of a small cardboard piece and stuck ice block sticks onto the small cardboard. Meanwhile I started to make the roof. It was challenging to make the roof because it kept making the tree hut fall over. Eventually I managed to put the roof on. Whew! 

 

The third day I just put on some polystyrene marshmallows for decorations. My hut kept falling over because I had put too much glue on it. Meanwhile I had an idea to wait for the glue to dry so I could put a little bit of glue to stick the polystyrene marshmallows onto the house. And it worked! Yay!

 

On the last day of school I finally got to paint my tree hut. After the paint had dried, Mrs Yumul helped me to cover the windows using clear plastic to make it water resistant. 

 

Meanwhile it was time for the success criteria. The whole class gathered under the canopy to check if our projects met the criteria – water resistant, wind resistant and weight resistant. Mine managed to pass and I felt so proud of myself.  I totally enjoyed doing the painting and cutting out recycled materials. I LOVE my tree hut!!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *