Preparing for Athletics Day

Earlier today after morning tea our class was practicing for athletics day. Our coach was called  coach Bart. At first we learned how to run properly and to run properly we needed to keep our heads up and run on our toes and to not look down. Meanwhile we played a game called sheep and dogs. The game is where there are two taggers or dogs and the rest are sheep. The dogs have to try to tag the sheep and if the dog tags the sheep with the monkey noodle then they have to run out the cones and run around the square.

After that we went back to the hedge and did actual running and in my group of four it had me, Olivia, Graziel and Jaeden . Jaeden was the first one up to run, then Graziel, then after Olivia it was me. After I ran I was kind of exhausted  but soon I was okay again. After a few rounds we did 2 people running, one racing the one in front of them so Olivia had to try get Graziel but before they started running one person had to stand on the orange cone and one had to stand on a blue cone.

After we practiced running we practiced jumping. When we got an animal and we laid down on the grass and put the animal on top of our heads then we all stood back up and lined behind the totally invisible line. When we were all lined up coach Bart explained what we had to do. We had to try to jump over our  animal that was still on the grass and if we jumped farther then the animal we had to move the animal between our feet. I struggled at first but after a few tries I made it! I was very proud of myself.

Soon the session was finished and I was a bit sad but happy that I learned new things! I enjoyed practicing for athletics day!

 

 

2 thoughts on “Preparing for Athletics Day

  1. Malo lelei I am from St Patrick’s school. I enjoyed the part when you were explaining how to play sheepdogs ” in a fun way. This just reminded me of when my family and I played this game called pirates, we had to hit others with the noodle on the waist and on the foot softly. Maybe you could add some pictures of you in your post.

  2. Kia ora Nicole. I am Cosma from St Patrick’s School. I like your writing. Did you enjoy the part when your team was running against the other teams?
    You have a lot of good ideas to share and you learnt how to do your paragraphs as well.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *